Language and Literacy Researchers in Canada (LLRC)

is a special interest group (SIG) within the Canadian Association for Curriculum Studies (CACS), which is in turn a constituent association of the Canadian Society for the Study of Education (CSSE). LLRC is comprised of individuals who are interested in language and literacy education and research, particularly, but not exclusively, within the Canadian context. We define "literacy" broadly, understanding that what it means to be literate is situational, and that individuals generally acquire numerous literacies as they navigate different linguistic spheres. In keeping with this notion, our members promote understanding of literacy acquisition in a range of developmental, socio-cultural, and media contexts. The Language and Literacy Researchers are partners with Language and Literacy: A Canadian Education E-Journal.

Become a member of LLRC through the CSSE membership process.

Read the LLRC AGM Minutes for 2012

Read the LLRC Constitution

Read the LLRC Position Statement

Read the LLRC Roles and Responsibilities


Contact Us

President

Geraldine Balzer, PhD
Department of Curriculum Studies
College of Education,
University of Saskatchewan,
28 Campus Dr.
Saskatoon, SK, S7N 0S1
Phone: (306) 966-6920
geraldine.balzer@usask.ca

1st Vice-President

Tara-Lynn Scheffel, PhD
Faculty of Education
Nipissing University
100 College Drive, Box 5002
North Bay, ON P1B 8L7
Phone: (705) 474-3461 ext. 4422
taralyns@nipissingu.ca

2nd Vice-President

Lyndsay Moffatt, PhD.
University of Prince Edward Island
lemoffat@upei.ca

Past-President

Kathy Hibbert, Ph.D.
The University of Western Ontario,
1137 Western Rd.
London, ON N6G 1G7
Office: 1030
Phone: (519) 661-2111 , x. 88557
khibbert@uwo.ca

Secretary

Sarah Burm, PhD Candidate
University of Western Ontario
sburm@uwo.ca

Liason: French Community

Lyne Legault, PhD
Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue
Lyne.Legault@uqat.ca

Grad Student Representatives, Chair

Erin Schryer, PhD Candidate
University of New Brunswick
erin.schryer@unb.ca

LLRC Master’s Research Award

Co-ordinators of the Faculty Adjudication Committee:

Lynne Wiltse, PhD
Department of Elementary Education
Faculty of Education
University of Alberta
551 Education South
Edmonton, AB T6G 2G5
Phone: 780-451-8220
wiltse@ualberta.ca

Wendy Crocker, PhD Candidate
Faculty of Education,
The University of Western Ontario,
1137 Western Rd.
London, ON N6G 1G7
Phone: (519) 661-2111
wcrocker@uwo.ca

Publications Chair

Suzanne Smythe, PhD
Assistant Professor
Literacy and Adult Education
Faculty of Education
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Drive
Burnaby, BC Canada V5A 1S6
Phone: 778-782-8882
sksmythe@sfu.ca

Pre-CSSE Conference Committee Chair

Jennifer Rowsell, PhD
Canada Research Chair in Multiliteracies
Associate Professor
Brock University
500 Glenridge Avenue, WH 376
St. Catharines, ON
Phone: (905) 688-5550, ext. 6121
jrowsell@brocku.ca


TOP